Page 117 of 179 FirstFirst ... 1767107113114115116117118119120121127167 ... LastLast
Results 2,321 to 2,340 of 3564

Thread: (SSGX Origins) Let's make a Wipeout game! This time for real!

  1. #2321
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Timezone
    GMT + 7
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Okay, here's [Blocky's countdown sequence] Xpand requested. .svg format.
    [.jpg format]

  2. #2322
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Timezone
    GMT -6
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Looking great, but maybe you could add just a tiny bit of life into it? Like, making its parts move around slightly when it is idle?
    It would also be cool if it winked at the first person to cross the line just before the final lap.

  3. #2323
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    'Sup, so I attempted to make the countdown sequence using blocky, but this keeps hapening.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FNVToe_1_I
    It just jitters back and forth instead of a steady change.
    Here's the code used:
    Code:
    function FixedUpdate () {
    
    Count();
    }
    
    function Count(){
    var offset;
    var num;
    yield WaitForSeconds(1.5);
    for(num=1; num<5; num++){
      offset = Vector2 (0, -(num*0.1650390625));
        
      renderer.material.SetTextureOffset ("_MainTex", offset);
    yield WaitForSeconds(1);
    }
    Anyone knows what's going on?

  4. #2324
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Timezone
    GMT -6
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Why don't you just use an animated texture?

  5. #2325
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    First of all: FixedUpdate () is ONLY for physics related functions because it runs between normal frame rate (faster than 30 times a sec, you can set how fast it executes in Time options of project)
    Secondly: Don't use 'for' loop for this, it is for another purposes, use something like this instead:
    var Timer : float = 0;
    var time : float = 0;
    function Update (){
    Timer += Time.deltaTime;
    if(Timer >= time){
    // place something here
    Timer = 0;
    }
    }
    You can check RaceStartCounter's script as reference
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 4th August 2012 at 03:16 PM.

  6. #2326
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Amaroq Dricaldari View Post
    Why don't you just use an animated texture?
    I'm using a normal texture sheet and scrolling it down so it has a 3, 2, 1, GO! animation. Unity Free doesn't support animated gifs, png, flv, flash animation, etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by zero3growlithe View Post
    First of all: FixedUpdate () is ONLY for physics related functions because it runs between normal frame rate (faster than 30 times a sec, you can set how fast it executes in Time options of project)
    Secondly: Don't use 'for' loop for this, it is for another purposes, use something like this instead:
    var Timer : float = 0;
    var time : float = 0;
    function Update (){
    Timer += Time.deltaTime;
    if(Timer >= time){
    // place something here
    Timer = 0;
    }
    }
    You can check RaceStartCounter's script as reference
    The problem is that I want an integer variable to be multiplied by the distance between two slides, like: Between countdown start (texture offset 0) to "3" is "y" (y=0.1650390625 in this case) pixels, 2*y is the distance between the 0 and "2", 3*y is the distance between 0 and "1", and so on until GO!. Each of those cycles are paused by one second. I didn't want to use continuous offset, rather a "jump to" action, that's why I didn't use the default Time systems and used the "for" loop... My teachers always suggested me to use for loops whenever I want to link the loop code with variating values that affect it. I use it all the time in MATLAB, but I guess it's not as stable in Unity...

    I guess I found what's causing the problem: It's the yield WaitForSeconds(); pause function. But I don't know of any replacement for that. I wanted the script to pause 1 second after each loop...

    No matter! I turned Time.time into an integer and it worked, sort of. I just have to sync it with the ship release.
    Last edited by Xpand; 4th August 2012 at 07:31 PM.

  7. #2327
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    The problem is that I want an integer variable to be multiplied by the distance between two slides, like: Between countdown start (texture offset 0) to "3" is "y" (y=0.1650390625 in this case) pixels, 2*y is the distance between the 0 and "2", 3*y is the distance... blah, blah, blah
    Let's look at our tools:
    - we can create variables
    - we can increment them every frame or by time
    soooooo, look, without 'for' loop same function:
    Code:
    private var offset : float = 0;
    private var num : float = 1;
    private var timer : float = 0;
    private var timer2 : float = 0;
    
    function Update(){
    timer += Time.deltaTime;
    	if (timer >= 1.5){
    		timer2 += Time.deltaTime;
    		if (timer2 > 1 && num < 5){
    			offset = Vector2 (0, -(num*0.1650390625));
    			renderer.material.SetTextureOffset ("_MainTex", offset);
    			num ++;
    			timer2 = 0;
    		}
    	}
    }
    This method is much better for timed events because u'r sure nothing unexpected will happen

  8. #2328
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Thats what I ended up using and it works. I just can't put the closed position in between the numbers.
    Code:
    function Update () {
    
    Count();
    }
    
    function Count(){
    var offset;
    
    var Timer : int = -1;
    
    Timer=Timer+Time.time;
    
    
    if (Timer>0 && Timer<5){
    
      offset = Vector2 (0, -(Timer*0.1722));
        
      renderer.material.SetTextureOffset ("_MainTex", offset);
    
    
    
    }
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIGCZNW0PDo

  9. #2329
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    France - Plerneuf
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Germanistgeek22
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Did you capture some gameplay footage ? I'd like to make a trailer.

  10. #2330
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    We have some, but it's very basic... Maybe after zero3growlithe corrects the details in the game and tracks you can get some clips.... The latest version of the game was uploaded recently. Try searching back a 2 or 3 pages to get it...

  11. #2331
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    France - Plerneuf
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Germanistgeek22
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Searched back into the thread and found nothing, for now.

    I think i can come with a song for one of the races or for the credits. All i need is a permission and a free race track to integrate the music that i will make.
    Last edited by Germanistgeek; 4th August 2012 at 08:46 PM. Reason: Media purpose

  12. #2332
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Hmm, the link doesn't appear to be working...
    Let's see what the others think about this....
    This is what I have on my end, none are in-game footage:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuCAY...feature=relmfu
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v91mS...feature=relmfu
    This is zero's gameplay video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=whdj42DurRs

    BTW zero, here's the countdown board plus code:
    Attachment 6548
    Last edited by Xpand; 4th August 2012 at 09:06 PM.

  13. #2333
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    France - Plerneuf
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Germanistgeek22
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Well, i think that i can collect as many footages as possible, put them together and make a first render of the trailer.

  14. #2334
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    HE, Germany
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    docfo4r
    Posts
    1,046

    Default

    You can make a trailer for the game? That would be awesome. I wanted to create a trailer in first place but my holidays are over and I barely have time now atm, unfortunately

    I'm excited to see what you can create...

  15. #2335
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    France - Plerneuf
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Germanistgeek22
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I don't think i can create really awesome trailers with decent video editing programs, like NCH VideoPad. But i'll do my best to make a trailer that includes as much material as i can. I'll try to do it in HD, despite having a not much powerfull computer.
    Last edited by Germanistgeek; 5th August 2012 at 09:52 AM.

  16. #2336
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Timezone
    GMT + 7
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xpand View Post
    Thats what I ended up using and it works. I just can't put the closed position in between the numbers.
    -snip-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIGCZNW0PDo
    Errr Xpand, can you add idle picture in-between each count? This looks off. :/
    No progress on Hubian lol. I need to take an exam tomorrow.

  17. #2337
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    @Germanistgeek: Imo trailer of game should be made when all tracks and ships cos trailer on one track is a bit... well, not nice. Just my opinion

  18. #2338
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    France - Plerneuf
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Germanistgeek22
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Okay, so maybe i can wait a little for mor tracks and ships and focusing on other things lik, fake sponsors or fake ads on the track, kinda like wipeout HD.

  19. #2339
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TypeProton View Post
    Errr Xpand, can you add idle picture in-between each count? This looks off. :/
    No progress on Hubian lol. I need to take an exam tomorrow.
    That's exactly the problem... I can't seem to make the image return to origin between each number.... Every time I add the code for that the image get's all warped...

  20. #2340
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    RaceStartCounter script is there to help you although it uses seperate textures for numbers and switch...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •