Page 96 of 179 FirstFirst ... 46869293949596979899100106146 ... LastLast
Results 1,901 to 1,920 of 3564

Thread: (SSGX Origins) Let's make a Wipeout game! This time for real!

  1. #1901

    Default

    Zero: are you going for a more F-Zero GX style HUD?

  2. #1902
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    No, that's my style, no copying and I don't even know how F-Zero's HUD looks like...
    EDIT: Now I know, aaaaaand... where is similarity to my HUD?
    EDIT2: Oh **** there is no such thing in Unity as GUITexture Alpha Cut-Off?! Ayfkm!? What do I do now? How do I make this damn HUD to fit every screen now?.... this sucks... oh, and what about using text writing features?! Noooooooo! I'm going to break :€
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 24th June 2012 at 05:17 PM.

  3. #1903
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    tecnically it should fit all resolutions provided that it is drawn in the max resolution. How are you placing the HUD? As a in-game object or as a visible 2D object script?

  4. #1904

    Default

    I made a poor choice of words- what I meant was that the style seems more 'cartoony' (i.e F-Zero) and less like WipeOut which I found slightly surprising since it does not really match stylistically with the main menu that I have seen. Not really my cup of tea, but its well done and looks professional. And I did not mean to insinuate that you were copying anything.

  5. #1905
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    As in-game object because 2D texture doesn't have alpha cut-off feature and I can't make my energy bar work without it (why unity dev's didn't put this small thing into this software?...)
    btw. Font placing problem resolved so just this resolution one is left which will take additional programming which will take me some time cos I'm lazy xd (but I know how to do it)

    @Aspect: Ah, ok :d I don't really look at those things ("does not really match stylistically with the main menu") so I've made it that way

    EDIT: Hey, should ships bank while turning on mag-strip? Cos I thought that maybe using some kind of mag locks and other nameless stuff it just don't have to bend to turn... xD
    EDIT2: Another problem about HUD... it is susceptible to light, ambient light which I'm using for better effects and it doesn't have such thing like layerMask
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 25th June 2012 at 05:42 AM.

  6. #1906
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 9.5
    PSN ID
    dreadofmondays
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Can I request you guys keep a link on the first post to the most updated version of the game released so far? I want to see what you've done but there are 191 pages in the thread and I don't know where to start. :/

  7. #1907
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Timezone
    GMT + 8
    PSN ID
    FEISAR-CSY
    Posts
    867

    Default

    I know that this is a topic breaker,but...
    I suppose that Mach One has gone out the window?

  8. #1908
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    If mach one is the speed that zero3growlithe put into Oryx's track testing then special tracks will have to be built for that speed class...

  9. #1909
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Timezone
    GMT + 8
    PSN ID
    FEISAR-CSY
    Posts
    867

    Default

    So...completely out the window,or perhaps in a post-release release as DLC?

  10. #1910
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    @dreadofmondays: Newest one is here: https://rapidshare.com/files/3252641533/SSGX_Alpha.rar (RS is going to delete this file soon so u better hurry )
    @FEISAR: Nobody said that

    @Xpand: Can you send me the script that you've used to move airbreaks in SSGX (play animations)? It will save me some time and effort
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 25th June 2012 at 12:48 PM.

  11. #1911
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Timezone
    GMT + 8
    PSN ID
    FEISAR-CSY
    Posts
    867

    Default

    May I ask:
    How many percent of the game content is complete?

  12. #1912
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    About 49,687572548393992927362037574928625373728% i think... no, wait, game content? Well that depends on how many tracks/ships we will have at the end.
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 25th June 2012 at 03:11 PM.

  13. #1913
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    HE, Germany
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    docfo4r
    Posts
    1,046

    Default

    Hahaha

    I think he was talking about how many tracks, ships, weapons etc. are really completed yet.

    EDIT: Nevermind, saw the word percent in his post

  14. #1914
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Timezone
    GMT + 8
    PSN ID
    FEISAR-CSY
    Posts
    867

    Default

    I ask because I want to know if there is space for Mach One Speed Class tracks.

  15. #1915
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zero3growlithe View Post

    @Xpand: Can you send me the script that you've used to move airbreaks in SSGX (play animations)? It will save me some time and effort
    I never managed to make it work correctly, but it works the same way as the ship banking script, only it should use the local object axis instead of the world object axis:
    Code:
    private var horizSpeed : float = 15;
    private var horizAngle : float = 30;
    private var turnSpeed : float = 120;
    private var hBank : float = 0;
    
    function Update(){
        // Get input, rotate ship and restrict rotation angle
    	var horizAX = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");
    		
    			hBank = Mathf.Lerp(hBank, horizAX, Time.deltaTime * horizSpeed); // Restricted Z-Axis variable for read-only
    	var CurrentAngle = transform.localEulerAngles; // Variable for Z-Axis Angle in degrees
    			CurrentAngle.x = -hBank * horizAngle; // Change that variable
    		transform.localEulerAngles = CurrentAngle; // Set ships rotation according to this variable
    }

  16. #1916
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    Uh... huh... okay, If so then I'll write my own cos I thought you used your build-in animations to make it easier... even better because if I would've wanted to make ship break I wouldn't be able to move both air breaks together in same direction as I assume animation doesn't include such move?
    btw. Unity doesn't import local rotation of objects so you need to make your own pivots inside Unity using scripting in order to do that i suppose (rotate air breaks correctly)
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 25th June 2012 at 03:52 PM.

  17. #1917
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Well making the pivots correctly is easy, just align then with the airbrake junction line with the fuselage. I have animated airbrakes on the 3D files, but you said they wouldn't work in Unity, so I deleted them, but it's easy to get them working again.

  18. #1918
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    Well making the pivots correctly is easy, just align then with the airbrake junction line with the fuselage.
    Erm, translate text above to JavaScript (C# will do too) then we can negotiate if it's so easy xd
    Anyway, I got my brother convinced to get back to programming and maybe when I'll teach him some Unity works on SSGX will go faster

  19. #1919
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    No, lol, I was mentioning the easy part as rotating the pivots, not scripting the animation. I thought that the script would use the local pivot instead of the global pivot... I gotta start making some experiences on Java too, once I'm done with the exams...

  20. #1920
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    I'm free for almost 2 months from now on so maybe i'll make a beta version of SSGX... or even demo during this time We'll see how it will go... disconnecting for some time now
    Zero3Growlithe logged out: 25.06.12/22:33

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •