Page 6 of 179 FirstFirst ... 23456789101656106 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 3564

Thread: (SSGX Origins) Let's make a Wipeout game! This time for real!

  1. #101

    Default

    nexekho: Looks really good! All you need now is a quake disruptor to pull those verticies some more.......

    Xpand: How are you getting on- sorted out your GL problems?

    btw found this old youtube vid of an FZERO/ WO style racer in Blender:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9si6334twqo

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    I've managed to make some objects rotate on the screen... Now I'm trying to make them respond to a key press...

    I'm having a little problem with lighting:
    Code:
    GLfloat specular[] = (0.9f, 0.9f, 0.9f, 1.0f);
    	glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_SPECULAR, specular);
    I gives me an error telling that couldn't determine the size of "specular"...
    Can anybody help me on this?

    Also that game looks awesome! I can't seem to find a way to create AI players...
    Last edited by Xpand; 5th September 2010 at 06:54 PM.

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    The problem is that you're trying to define an array using () brackets, when you need to use {} brackets to define the default elements.

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Ah! Thanks!

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Any problems you have, XPand, just post 'em here. I have ~3 years C experience and ~2 years GL experience. How are you planning on getting ship models into the game?

    Right now I'm trying to make it more Wipeout-y, adding a bit of drifty lag to the controls and airbraking.

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Thanks!
    I'm trying to convert X to obj or mdl files and put them on OpenGL.

    I'm already capable of doing this:
    Attachment 1925

    It's very simple but made me quite happy when it worked!
    Before this I could only make DOS programs with C and C++.
    Now I'm trying to get some movement out of key pressing!

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    I have a custom mesh format I made for a previous project. It's basically a binary version of .obj that loads faster and can store lighting data used by normal maps that would otherwise need to be generated on load. It kicks out a display list of the mesh, but being based on .obj it can't have moving or animated parts within the mesh. I'd be willing to send you the mesh converter and the loader function over PM.

    Moving parts and airbraking.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJay3NisYL4
    Last edited by nexekho; 6th September 2010 at 06:15 PM.

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Sure! Thanks! Any help is apreciated!
    Also: How did you make the parts move? Do you make the whole model and export the moving parts as separate objects?

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Yeah, they're separate meshes grouped under the same object. So the object's position and rotation serve as a base and then they can be moved/rotated/scaled according to the stats of the car. This is done in a text file like so:

    Code:
    Mesh
    Solid
    Data/Racers/Pteromi/Rudder.mse
    Data/Racers/Pteromi/Diffuse.dds
    Translate
    Constant
    0.0
    -0.29
    -0.44
    Rotate
    Turn
    0.0
    1.0
    0.0
    -0.15
    You can stack practically infinite rotations, translations and scales but each one requires the building and multiplication of a matrix which can cause slowdown.

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Are you going to enable crash damage on the ships? A simple way is making damage level models, for example, when the damage is at 75 percent the game engine displays a model slightly damaged instead of the prestine start model.

  11. #111
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xpand View Post
    Are you going to enable crash damage on the ships?
    At the moment, damage is available as a variable like turn, thrust, etc. but cannot be used as an on/off switch to switch damaged components in. This is something I shall consider.

  12. #112
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    http://i55.tinypic.com/29idf7.png

    16-WAY SPLIT SCREEN STABILITY STRESS TEST!

    Ooooh-right!

    Edit: 240-way is really slow but works
    Last edited by nexekho; 13th September 2010 at 05:29 PM.

  13. #113
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Awesome! And it still runs at 49FPS! Can't imagine a normal window!

  14. #114
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tasmainia, launceston
    PSN ID
    jesse9705
    Posts
    179

    Post

    ill volunteer to help with making the track designs if needed and if needed ill make some of the crafts and the bonus is i wanna help so ill do my best so if you need help ask me how i can help and i shall if i can

  15. #115
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Ok, nice! Show us what you've got! Drawings, 3D models, the works!

  16. #116
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    I can provide new ships from Wipeout HD if all ideas to make a new one fail.
    (i'll try to make as best quality as i can [with moving air breaks]).

    For now my idea (star wars :
    https://zero3growlithe.wordpress.com...t-custom-ship/

    By the way, my finished track (Coridon 6):
    http://zero3growlithe.wordpress.com/.../31/coridon-6/
    Maybe a little bug repairs is needed...

    (i need a little more powerfull CPU to make an animation, becouse at this time 1 render takes about 2 hours to complete )...

    Maybe i'll connect PS3 to my PC (if only it would be possible)
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 16th September 2010 at 06:45 PM.

  17. #117
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,529

    Default

    Wow, me liky!!
    Just make sure it isn't too CPU heavy...

  18. #118
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the center... Poland?
    PSN ID
    zero3growlithe
    Posts
    779

    Default

    It is heavy (wondering if ps3 can handle it)

    Kidding, if it was used in the game, then it had to be converted to proper format and reedited to correct textures... or something like that, then it won't take much CPU (i think)
    Last edited by zero3growlithe; 23rd September 2010 at 03:11 PM.

  19. #119
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montréal
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    Darkdrium777
    Posts
    4,553

    Default

    Why the pictures have gray lines all over them?

  20. #120
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Enfield, North London, UK
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    SaturnReturn
    Posts
    2,828

    Default

    It's to do with it being the evaluation version of the software:

    Evaluation version
    Try before you buy. This is a fully functional version with limited material, light fixture, and plant libraries. The evaluation version also draws thin black lines across the final rendered image.

    http://www.flamingo3d.com/download.htm

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •