Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: PACER now available at the PStore

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    4,109

    Default PACER now available at the PStore

    I just had a look and saw PACER had been put up at the PStore....use search to find it.[I'm 10+ hours ahead of UK, so it might not show at the UK PStore yet]

    File size is 15.13GB....Price was AUS $59.95

    Join PS4 community - PACER AG RACING GROUP - for like minded AG racing nutters who want to get into the game.

    EDIT: I have just put a few hours into PACER and can Happily say that on a PS4 PRO the game not only looks FAR better than a lot of people are going to expect, but it plays as smooth as silk. [I'm playing on a 65" 200HZ 4K TV ] and it looks amazing, better than my PC IMHO.

    Surprisingly all 80+ music tracks that were in the development version are in the game.

    Also if you were a Kickstarter person your name will be listed in the credits....it's something I suppose.

    I'm not sure how long the Halloween craft skins will be available, maybe just for early purchasers till end of OCT.....it was the little extra something R8 put into the game that I mentioned about in another thread.

    This is NOT FF, it's a lot more refined than FF in every department.
    Last edited by blackwiggle; 28th October 2020 at 03:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    eLhabib
    Posts
    4,388

    Default

    Thanks, that's reassuring. Now I have to wait until I receive my download key...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    4,109

    Default

    All was good with the game, that was until I went to remap controls.

    Doesn't work.

    I just TRIED to sign into DISCHORD to report the problem and I'm stuck in a endless loop of clicking of stupid squares of pictures to prove I'm not a robot, that doesn't work either.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    4,109

    Default

    The game should be up now on all except Xbox, apparently there was a major FAIL regarding that....what it was I don't know.

    Also I have reported the none working of the controller remapping and R8 said they already knew about the problem and are in 'Fix it' mode, something to do with UNREAL engine

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Boone, NC, USA
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I'm seeing reports of inconsistent frame rates. Like the game will easily stay above 60 but drop below frequently, with CPU and GPU usage at or below 50% on high end systems.

    I guess I might pick it up and play for an hour and refund it if I don't think it's in a playable (for a racer) state.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    MrOrbital
    Posts
    368

    Default

    After playing for a few hours I'm very impressed over all. Only a few strange things. The ingame volume is really low. I had to adjust volume quite a bit compared to other PS4 games. Still I could barely hear the music tracks at all. It is good now but I had to lower voice and sound effects massively in the settings.
    Also when the craft passes by post race there is a really weird stuttering sound until the audio track fades away.
    Still trying to sideshift... not the games fault though.


    Just tried the game with headphones. Wow! What a massive difference! That was very immersive. Audio is one of the most impressive things so far.
    Still has the stuttering audio bug post race. I hope they fix that. It is kind of annoying.
    Last edited by multibodydynamics; 29th October 2020 at 07:13 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Germany, Ennepe-Ruhr-Kreis
    PSN ID
    Sphereshift
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Multibody, I totally agree. First, I used my hifi-equipment. Well, it was okay. But the music was too low, so I decreased FX etc. Later I switched to my Beyerdynamic headphones and oooh boy...as you said, the immersion overcame me
    The soundtrack is massive. Maybe 60 songs, several Warp records artists etc. Very cool.

    Though it crashed 3 times during 3 hours of play. Hope they can fix this. But overall I am really happy with the outcome so far. Enjoy it far more than Redout (which is a very good game - just feels different than I prefer).

    So far, I can really recommend it!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    4,109

    Default

    I haven't tried this yet, but as PACER doesn't have a dedicated side shift move, you might want to try making a craft loadout using DRIFT as a basis.

    Combined with a none default airbrake mod, that might give you the handling type your after.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    PSN ID
    feisar_2097
    Posts
    496

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pico de Goroh View Post
    I'm seeing reports of inconsistent frame rates. Like the game will easily stay above 60 but drop below frequently, with CPU and GPU usage at or below 50% on high end systems.

    I guess I might pick it up and play for an hour and refund it if I don't think it's in a playable (for a racer) state.
    Correct. I was one of the ones who posted on steam forums. After i did, the moderator merged it to the bug thread so it would be harder for people to spot the unoptimized mess. Its basically unplayable if you want a 144hz experience. I can turn down the settings/res scaling to the point that even 2097 would look better, and it would still drop to 25-30 FPS at specfic parts of the track. Its too annoying to play with these frame spikes especially in a fast paced game like this

    Even need for speed heat & almost any modern Ubisoft PC game that uses two malware DRM's that utilizes CPU like insane is more optimized than this mess

    Good game though, but needs more work on optimizing it, and some QoL features as well.


    Also if anyone is annoyed by unmappable binds, you can open up run and type %localappdata% then go to formulafusion/saved/config/windowsnoeditor and open up Input.ini in something like notepad++. Here you can adjust some of the binds like thrust & airbrakes. Here is the controller input names for unreal engine 4 games


    https://michaeljcole.github.io/wiki....d_Input_Names/
    Last edited by Racingfan; 30th October 2020 at 04:44 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Boone, NC, USA
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Yeah, I just picked it up to see how it performs on my PC.

    Got drops to 50fps regardless of resolution and settings. 1440p Ultra, or 720p medium, didn't matter.

    So this... probably isn't going to be addressed, right? Like, they've had a very long time to dial in performance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •