PDA

View Full Version : What is Santa bringing YOU this YEAR?

blackwiggle
5th December 2013, 11:54 AM
Santa must have lost my address, or I've been :naughty for the last 53 years :eek

I don't know about you, but I got sick of the disappointment at Xmas presents and decided to do something about it.

So for about the last 10 years I've found a item I coveted and have made it my target to get as a "The Best Xmas Present Ever" :hyper:hyper, from me to me :)
It's never a disappointment, and I don't even need to wrap it.

I was thinking of getting a PS4, but then looked at it objectively and thought, no, it's only really a upgrade, nothing is really a game changer with it, and it's not really expensive enough to warrant "Xmas Present Status"

So, I re thought it.

I used to be a Pro Photographer, back when Film was used.
I haven't had anything except a crappy Canon point and shoot thing which I loath, for at least 10 years.
And how anybody can consider holding a smart phone with arms outstretched "Taking a Photo" is beyond me, so that has always been a none starter for me.
It's been more than 25 years since I sold my Pro gear.
So THIS YEAR ...:hyper:hyper:hyper

A new 36.7mp Nikon D800e with a nice Black Rapid sport strap, the matching MB-12 hand grip , MC-36a remote cord, a 64GB memory card and a heap of other [rather expensive accessories ]
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikon-d800-d800e
http://www.blackrapid.com/products/sport
"Thanks SANTA"!!!!

I feel 20 years younger just having a very close to pro level camera back in my hands ... [mind you, the 450 page instruction manual is like sitting a exam :brickwall]
Then there is the Cameras multiple menu's :eek

But it feels so nice .....except for the sheer weight of the thing.:redface: