PDA

View Full Version : hello + couple questions

Frances_Penfold
6th November 2006, 06:35 AM
Hi,

I'm Frances Penfold, and new to the forum. I'm a biologist from upstate NY, USA-- I like driving games a lot, especially Mario Kart time trial competitions. I really enjoy Wipeout Pure, however, and am hoping to participate in this community as well. Seems like a really nice place :D

Here's a couple questions I have-- I understand that you guys don't like spam, I have tried to look for answers to these questions in the forum archive before posting. Apologies in advance for any stupid questions.

1. I recently imported a PAL version of Wipeout Pure from Australia (DVDcrave.com)-- it was significantly cheeper ($20 UDS) than importing from the UK. Will I be able to participate in Xlink Kai match-ups with y'all PAL users from Europe with my version of the game?

2. I am curious about the general dislike of the Zone and Medieval craft amongst the site users. I certainly understand that the limited shield on these ships is a huge liability for single races, tournaments and multiplayer. But what about for Time Trial mode, and in particular, TTs at the lower speeds? My sense is that these ships would perform very very well in this scenario, but then again, I'm not nearly as good as the game as most of y'all! :nod

3. I've read about a "backwards quake" in some of the threads around here. What the hell is that?! My understanding was that there was no way to fire weapons backwards on this game... is the backward quake just a forward sent quake produced by the current leader?

4. In general, are there banned short cuts that I need to be aware of for time trial competition? The SC/non-SC system is pretty well developed in MK and F-zero but I have yet to see much about it written here. Just wanted to ask about this before I go and accidentally submit a time using a banned strategy.