PDA

View Full Version : Important questions before purchasing the game

santuz_rocks
20th December 2018, 03:58 PM
Hello, I played a lot of Wipeout HD on PS3 and I still play it sometimes. I've just purchased a PS4 and I'm really interested in buying Wipeout Omega (I've never played 2048 and I'd like to compete online). But I need some informations first! Can you help me?

1- Is this game still alive online? Will I find online matches easily? (i'm really interested in multiplayer)

2- Should i buy a physical copy (20€ in my country) or digital one (14€ on PS store)? Is there any advantage/disadvantage? (it can seem a dumb question but i am extremely new to PS4 world!)

3- I play on a 1080p monitor: will it run smoothly on a PS4 slim? Are there disadvantages against PS4 Pro players? (more frame rates, etc...)

Thank you for the attention!

faB
20th December 2018, 08:52 PM
Hey I guess I'll hjack your thread as I have a similar question.

I'm totally new to the PS4. I Played 2097 and Wip3Out Special Edition to hell and back and thought I'd buy myself a present =)

Same questions #2 and #3.

Additionally, is there a "nose cam" view in Omega Collection?

I haven't watched this thoroughly yet, I'm not sure it answers question 3:

WipEout Omega Collection: PS4/Pro/PS3/Vita - Graphics Comparison + Frame-Rate Test (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gy8HjqHOe1Y)

- - - Updated - - -

Somewhat addressing #1

https://old.reddit.com/r/WipeOut/comments/a62l1k/wipeout_omega_online_still_active/

Trying to answer #3 based on this video above:

- "the main difference is resolution, visuals are mainly the same"
- PS4 = native 1080p with some kind of 4xAA
- PRO adds true 4K resolution + HDR
- "even on demanding circuits with lots of weapons, NEITHER console buckles from 60 FPS" "rock solid on BOTH ps4 machines, with vsync always engaged"

Annoyingly the video compares PS4 Pro with Vita, so it doesn't clarify whether things like "global illumination" or full shadows are also on the PS4