Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Random Network Connection Errors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    Posts
    13

    Default Random Network Connection Errors

    Hi Guys,

    Have been playing Wipeout HD for about a week since joining with absolutely no problems.

    Tonight I now randomly get kicked out of online play with 'Network Error: Cannot contact server' or similar related messages.

    I can login to online play every time, and join a game every time, I just usually get kicked out after about a lap or two, consistently in the first race anyway.

    Have no such trouble playing other games online eg. GT5, LBP .. running Internet Connection Test is fine, Type 2 NAT etc. so I have no clue what it could be.

    Please help !! I really love the game this is so annyoying out of the blue.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    3,863

    Default

    Try changing your selected online location.
    Go to online where the boards are, then press square, you will have a choice to select between EU, US, AUS, JAP, KR.

    This has worked before for others that have suffered this problem, if it works for a while then the same problem returns just change back to your original.
    Sometimes it's just server overload that causes it, so switching to another sorts it.

    It could also be somebody else in your household is using the internet at the same time and is slowing down your upload speed, so you get disconnected.

    Also, if using a wireless modem, do a check to see how many devices are using it, you wouldn't be the first to get a nasty shock if you find that you next door neighbor has been connecting to the internet via your wireless modem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    Posts
    13

    Default

    blackwiggle - thanks so much for the tip of changing zones I will definately give this a go.

    I have suspected things like LAN congestion, I am on wireless but my PC was idle not running any downloads or filesharing software etc. and my WLAN is secured with WPA2 (though I'll double check tonight for any stray clients) so I'm fairly sure its not a local issue.

    Again hope I can get it resolved !!! Loving this game ..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    Posts
    124

    Default

    If it's possible, try directly connecting your PS3 to the modem for a little while and see if your troubles continue. It's not a permanent solution, but it does help diagnose the problem.

    With a router in the way it could be one of many things (As much as NAT2 should say it's fine, always better to check).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Frailavi - thanks for the tip.

    The PS3 is permanently wired to the Modem/Router via CAT5 cabling, only my laptop PC and (which I occaisionally run PS3 Media Server) is on Wireless connection - so I am fairly sure its not a LAN/WLAN issue.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    Posts
    124

    Default

    But the router is the most likely issue, just bypassing it for a bit to see if the problem continues can rule out a lot of possibilities.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    3,863

    Default

    Most Modem/Routers are built as a single combined units now days, I haven't had separate units for years.
    What's more worrying for me is I've been looking at upgrading, as the whole of Australia is getting a new National Broadband overhaul to super fast cable [100mbs]
    But there are very few wired modems if you look at manufacturers sites, most of them are wireless, which makes having super fast broadband pointless if you throttle it at the last stage because of wirelesses transmission/receive limitations.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    Amplificated
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    I think that's the case here, but typically it depends on your connection type, BW. Cable is a completely different beast to A/DSL.

    Also, if the modems you're looking at upgrading to are ADSL, I can't see how the actual connection to the internet can be wireless - I haven't heard of a wireless telephone line connection? Most ADSL modems would require a connection to the phone line, which is always physical. I think the wireless you're referring to is the router side of things, in which case you're better off just getting a proper router - which would nearly always be a vastly better option than using a modem's routing/multi-connection capability.

    If you're thinking of upgrading because of the NBN, I'd definitely hold off until you know what kind of modems you'll be getting. ADSL modems will not work with a fiber-optic service, but the NBN modems will definitely be able to plug into any router. The NBN modems will most likely be handed to you as part of installation anyway, and you'll probably never have to change or upgrade it again.

    Shopping for a dedicated router opens up more options for home networking capabilities, also. I'd rather have a basic modem that does an admirable job of being connected to the interwebs, and have it plugged into a router rather than have a "wireless modem" any day.
    Last edited by amplificated; 21st June 2011 at 05:49 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I've been looking at new modems to replace my existing Router/Modem combo, mainly to get 802.11n into my house, currently 802.11g is a bottleneck at 52Mbps (Streaming HD via PS3 Media Server over Wireless often breaks up).

    An 802.11n Modem/Router running Wireless at 300Mbps should be no bottleneck either for streaming video, or accessing the new NBN at 100Mbps.

    This Router seemed like the best choice for me, as it provides a FTTx ready port for when your NBN link does come in, and offers a 4-port Gigabit switch incase the Wireless is still an issue.

    http://www.billion.com/product/wirel...r-Gigabit.html

    I wouldn't ever have my PS3 running over wireless, only for laptops and other mobile devices in the house ..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    Amplificated
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    Yeah, those features sound neat. However, don't shop on features alone: do some research first and see if there are any common user complaints. If the router seizes up every other day and you have to reset it, it's going to be ever so mildly annoying - and that's said from experience Especially when it seizes up while you're playing a game.

    If routing is your problem it might just be worthwhile getting a cheapie to fill in until you're sure you can get something that will last a while when the NBN comes your way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •