Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wipeout HD looks awful now.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Timezone
    GMT -6
    PSN ID
    JayMinerFan
    Posts
    401

    Unhappy Wipeout HD looks awful now.

    So, I recently got a large, flat-panel TV, and Wipeout HD looks TERRIBLE on it. The top and bottom halves on the screen will be out-of-sync for a few frames, or the framerate itself will stutter, or the game itself will run at a low framerate. This is especially noticeable on the Fury tracks.

    What's going on here? I also got the new update right before playing it for the first time on the new TV, but I doubt that it's at fault here, since it's supposed to do nothing besides adding 3D support.

    Is it the HDMI cable's fault?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Team WEEEEEEEEEEE HQ
    PSN ID
    mdhay_wz
    Posts
    2,774

    Default

    I believe that OBH was going through a similar problem. Could just be your TV lagging behind the awesomeness.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Enfield, North London, UK
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    SaturnReturn
    Posts
    2,828

    Default

    It's odd because the problems described sound like things I started experiencing since Fury came out. I hadn't imagined the TV could have anything to do with it at the time, but will be interesting to hear others' suggestions. I remember z1r0rEi bought an LED backlit TV and found HD unplayable after that, but can't recall exactly what he was experiencing that was putting him off.

    Have you tried an alternative connection type and/or cable, or turning off all the TV's processing effects so see if there's a difference?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montréal
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    Darkdrium777
    Posts
    4,552

    Default

    What type of TV did you have before?
    What is the TV you have now?
    Have you set the resolution of the signal coming from the PS3 to the closest of the TV's native resolution?
    + the other things said here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Timezone
    GMT -6
    PSN ID
    JayMinerFan
    Posts
    401

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestions and explanations, guys; I'll try some of these ideas out when I get the chance.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Timezone
    GMT -6
    PSN ID
    JayMinerFan
    Posts
    401

    Default

    Oh, yeah; I just remembered - Modern Warfare 2 runs as smoothly as ever. I really have no clue about what's going on here.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    4,048

    Default

    Sometimes when an update comes out it can screw with your video settings.
    It's usually when they have either added some functionality or renamed/ slightly altered a video output, it's PITA and has happened more than once over the last few years.

    I've found that the easiest way to sort it is to reset everything, I mean right back to basics and then go through the whole box ticking exercise again.

    Another cause of the problem that might be occurring is if you are running you video signals from the PS3 via HDMI through a Surround amp, then into the TV.
    I've lost count of the number of times this has been the cause of this problem for other people.
    Fixable, but lot to troubleshoot if that's your setup.

    Easiest way to test if this is the cause of the problem is to run the video out of the PS3 straight into the TV via HDMI, and then output the audio via optical [need to also change this in the PS3's settings] into your surround amp.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Torrington, CT USA
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    AG-Wolf
    Posts
    1,201

    Default

    Dan, you definitely have to investigate different possible causes.

    Between all the TVs I've played WOHD on, I've encountered tearing (I think it's usually called "V-Sync" tearing in most PC games) in two different TV setups.

    one is my friend's Philips 52" - either it's an economy or low-budget model, or he was using a chintsy HDMI cable, but it would do tearing the last time I played the game on it before he changed his entertainment setup

    the other is another friend's 46" Sharp - His needs a firmware update or something because every once in a while, tearing occurs on a random input. His is just a simple matter of switching his input selection to something else and back again and it clears right up.


    it's been a while since I've played with any frequency, so I don't know if I remember tearing anywhere else (maybe when there's a lot of weapon effects and ships on screen at once?)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Golgofier
    Posts
    95

    Default

    Weird, never experienced any issues with WOHD on my set.
    Just FYI - the top 3 pixel rows will always be out-of-sync (tearing, if you will) in 1080p. It's suppose to, but the other problems you're having are definitely not by design

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Holland
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Zix-Xer
    Posts
    100

    Default

    I have a new TV to a LCD full hd, and it was laggy as hell, now i found out that my tv was upgrading the frames with extra fake frames so it had 200 frames instaid of 60 but that also made my game have like 0.8 sec of lag or so, now i found out that my tv gots a game mode and now it runs perfect!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •