Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Response time

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    PSN ID
    stever
    Posts
    38

    Default

    @ProblemSolver/Kanar: thanks for the welcomes. I'm a long time WipEout veteran but have only just found the site and started getting into HD again after a long stint concentrating on Burnout Paradise. Really looking forward to Fury as well now though.

    @AG-wolf: thanks the for comprehensive response. I think I've got most of my set-up to match that but will check when I get home this evening. In order to keep Dolby Digital sound I take the optical audio straight to the amp rather than going via the TV and switch sources on the amp and the TV separately, which is a bit of a faff but does keep the amp from introducing lag as you suggest. I'd be quite interested to try the test in the article though to see how much lag I am getting, as with games that run at the speed of wipEout any lag will have a big knock on effect on performance.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    USA (Lowell, MA)
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    LOUDandPROUD
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AG-wolf View Post
    Also, do not use any kind of switchbox/entertainment center to switch between different devices. Some amps have multiple HDMI inputs so it acts as a switcher, but they often add a bit of signal lag as well. Use your TV to switch devices, then run a single optical audio cable from the TV's out-jack to the receiver.
    Thanks for this tip, AG-wolf. Currently, I'm running all my HDMI cables directly into my receiver which, as you said, is acting a switcher. Right when I get home today, I'm going to change things, per your advice. Positive rep is on it's way to you!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    --.. --- -. .
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    ProblemSolver
    Posts
    1,335

    Default

    Digital Foundry and Gamasutra have made some tests on measuring
    responsiveness in video games, i.e. controller lag. It seem that the XMB lags
    at least 3 frames (50ms = 3/60fps) behind, which can be read off from the
    Gamasutra article linked in the first post. Whether the PS3 can to 2/60s or
    even 1/60s is, up to my knowledge, unknown. The Hypervisor may take its time.

    In Feb 2010 Digital Foundry has tested some 60fps games and their
    responsiveness, like

    Ridge Racer 7 - 66ms,
    Street Fighter IV - 66ms, and
    WipEout HD - 84ms.

    [Ref] Digital Foundry vs. Console Lag: Round Two
    (page 3 includes the material about WipEout HD)

    In essence, we lag 5 frames (~84ms) behind, and one frame behind Ridge
    Racer 7 and Street Fighter IV (4 frames, ~66ms). I'm questioned about why
    WipEout HD looses an additional frame? It seems unnecessary. Could be an SPE
    synchronization issue. And from my experience I can tell that WipEout HD's
    responsiveness isn't constant over time. On slowdowns / framedrops the input
    takes much longer. This won't be a big issue for normal races, but in ZONE it
    can kill you. Anyways. I think that some wipeeps playing Ridge Racer 7 or
    Street Fighter IV will tell that these games feel a bit more responsive than
    WipEout HD.
    Last edited by ProblemSolver; 24th May 2010 at 01:00 AM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    motorsagmannen
    Posts
    372

    Default

    really interesting find PS. not sure how noticeable this is to mere mortals. but whether we realize it or not response time can be crucial in all games. and more so in games like wipeout where just the slightest lag can throw you off a BR, or SS input

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,356

    Default

    The lag really kills you when the game does not respond, so you keep turning because you ship does not respond, then into a wall (multiplayer that is). for me anyway, I love playing TT, but when I play multiplayer right after, it feels terrible.

  6. #16
    ACE-FLO's Avatar
    ACE-FLO is offline Banned for using a sock account Zone Pilot
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    AG-Beast from London East
    PSN ID
    ACE-FLO // Killer_LoopZ
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    I've always been notorious for playing online a helluva lot more than offline, infact, I'm of the view that for active competition - if you wanna improve, just go online. Yes, there is lag, frame drops and all sorts of bugs that hinder pilots - but I take that as a given, and try my best to adjust accordingly.

    Though offline makes for a much more smoother gaming experience, I find that I cannot sit there and play for more than two races before I go online for like 3 or 4... maybe 5 hours to race. I guess TT and SL would help me to improve alot more but I cant be bothered really lol

    I've already optimized my HDTV settings to minimize lag (Game mode), and am using an expensive HDMI cable for connection - I found this helped slightly, but lag is still apparent, though nowhere as much as before when I used scart lead.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Torrington, CT USA
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    AG-Wolf
    Posts
    1,201

    Default

    @Ace: no need for an "expensive" HDMI cable... I've never paid more than a dollar per foot and they work just fine lol

    I still question this website's measure of "response time" in games, because they make no mention of whether or not they've optimized their displays before executing their tests... their TV could have 80ms input lag on top of whatever "frames" they're measuring with their cameras... or they could simply be measuring their own setup's input lag and nothing else lol

  8. #18
    ACE-FLO's Avatar
    ACE-FLO is offline Banned for using a sock account Zone Pilot
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    AG-Beast from London East
    PSN ID
    ACE-FLO // Killer_LoopZ
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    meh, i paid 60 squids, deep fried with batter for it... i coulda just paid a portion of chips? i'm such a dick

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Torrington, CT USA
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    AG-Wolf
    Posts
    1,201

    Default

    http://www.newegg.com

    the dollar per foot is a bit of an exaggeration, but really, I have three 6ft cables and I don't think I paid more than 10 bucks each.

    You do have to realize, some of the ludicrously cheap Hong-Kong discount brands CAN be pretty crappy... if the gauge of the wire they use is too small, it may not be able to transmit a full 1080p signal with full surround-sound without a degradation in quality. I've seen some cables no thicker than an old game controller cord, and I wouldn't waste my time with those, but the ones I picked up are substantially thicker and have better insulation, and I've never had any issues

  10. #20
    ACE-FLO's Avatar
    ACE-FLO is offline Banned for using a sock account Zone Pilot
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    AG-Beast from London East
    PSN ID
    ACE-FLO // Killer_LoopZ
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    mine is wrapped in nylon kevlar type windy bitch hard strong stuff, and is only 1.5 metres long, with gold plated bits, made by Cambridge Audio.

    Was told, "the shorter the cable, the better the response time" - so I chose the most expensive one with the shortest available cable.

    Oh well, I guess i'm a mug then...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •