Thread: Will I ever get used to Phantom?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    crawdad62

Default Will I ever get used to Phantom?

I'm a complete noob at Wipeout. I feel pretty good in my progression but I for the life of me can't get into racing in Phantom class. This pertains more to online racing than anything because if I'm in campaign mode I just do what's expected and move on. If I'm in Racebox I just either choose Rapier or lower or bang around the track in Phantom.

Anyway online I'm sort of limited since most of the races are Venom or Phantom. I get into Venom races and it feels like it's in slow motion. I don't even enter Phantom races because from all the solo runs I've made in Phantom I know I'll not make it through.

Is this just a practice thing? I guess the question I'm asking is did Phantom seem totally out of control for you at first? Is this something I'll eventually get? Of course I know you can't really answer whether or not I'll "get it" but I'm curious if I'm just too hand/eye impaired or if others at first were intimidated by the Phantom speed.

Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    WZ_Task

Totally.
    My first WO was XL, and I spent months learning Phantom. Rapier I could manage, but only just barely. Phantom I was lucky to survive the race, never mind place in the top 3.

The first step is to know the track. Really know it. Fly that thing in TT until it's second nature and you're pulling off consistent times that are among your best. Then crank the speed up a notch. Repeat until you're at Phantom. It will take a while.