Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 106

Thread: How to troubleshoot and fix online problems

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montréal
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    Darkdrium777
    Posts
    4,551

    Default

    I think this is just the way it works.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Paris, France
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    Spece2goin
    Posts
    263

    Default

    i can't connect my PS3 now.
    it used to work well but it's over, don't know why.

    i set it on DMZ, but it fails the test on internet connection (i wait long, and it's a DNS error, even if it's the same as my computer)

    also, if i ping the targeted IP adress with my computer, there is no response.
    it's 198.107.158.198 (i can see it on my router, see also 198.107.157.137 and 138 )

    what can i do? i was on NAT 2 before the problem, and my comp doesn"t have any.

    fyi : automatic settings do nothing, still can't connect.
    wire/wifi no difference
    internet navigator works properly, i can see this post with it.

    EDIT : used OpenDNS primary DNS : 208.67.222.222 secondary DNS : 208.67.220.220 and connecting is possible (and much faster than before)
    Last edited by Spece2goin; 9th July 2009 at 09:28 PM. Reason: SOLVED

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eLhabib View Post
    After assigning a static IP to your PS3, did it go from NAT2 to NAT1? If yes, I would be very interested in a tutorial.
    To use static IP is useless. You just do manually what the DHCP server in the router does for you. Also one needs to know what s/he is doing because it's easy to make a mess.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Timezone
    GMT + 8
    PSN ID
    Virtical
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Ive got a quick question, thinking of switching my PS3 over from Wi-fi to ethernet, anyone know if itll behave on the second network port from my computer if I bridge the two cards? Or anything I should know if I do?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    3,863

    Default

    Depends on what particular modem/router you have.

  6. #16

    Default

    My pal could join, but never host a game - "unable to connect", "DNS", "network error" or something. He's a short vegetarian computer type and had a long list of techie things that he'd tried with NAT, router fiddling, wires/less, etc.

    I was able to host when connecting through his machine. After much unhelpful web-trawling, it occured to me that his PSN name contained "..fuk.." and after creating a non-profane sub-account all is sweet.

    Thought this might help some other lost soul.

    Last edited by needsmust; 6th September 2009 at 11:10 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    America
    Timezone
    GMT -6
    PSN ID
    Koleax
    Posts
    516

    Default

    I've noticed that sometimes I will not receive a pickup after going over the pad, even when it's lit, I hear the noise, and know it should be active. Is this just a problem with lag that can't be remedied? In some eliminator races it happens more than half the time.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    From here to eternity
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    QjonPL
    Posts
    152

    Default

    It is called Vista Pad - well known online 'feature' of W HD ^^

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    9,850

    Default

    It is called a program glitch. A coding fault.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montréal
    Timezone
    GMT -5
    PSN ID
    Darkdrium777
    Posts
    4,551

    Default

    It is called a Vista pad. A Windows fault.

    There I fixed it for you.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •