Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Quick Start?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    12

    Default

    First post time - hello to everyone!

    Has anyone figured out how to achieve a fast start like in previous Wipeout versions? In WO3 you just needed to keep your initial revs at a certain point, and you could fly off the starting grid, but I can't suss if this is possible with Fusion.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Hi Bablos, press the acceleration button right after the announcer said "Go!". Or, if your reaction is as bad as mine, press the button when the annoucer says "Go!" :smile:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default

    well that sorta thing only works with one or two ships, and maybe even one or two speeds surely? seeing as acceleration varies?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    PSN ID
    infoxicated
    Posts
    5,636

    Default

    It works with every ship, but if you even breathe on the accelerator before the constipated dude says "GO!" then you wont be able to turbo start.

    It's quite good actually, in that the AI ships are a bit hit and miss with it too. They don't get it every time, so you can plough into the one in front if he makes a bad start. This makes for much weaving off of the grid. :smile:

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Nice one!

    Works a treat, but most of the time I end up ramming into the ship in front of me!

    Currently wrestling my way around Cubiss Float Course 2 - evil little track. Something tells me they're gonna get harder. Time to go back to the Feisar until I get my head around the track...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Europe, Bordeaux
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I think there's a bug on start sequence (maybe french version only ?)
    I see the yellow and with a "0" near it, the i wait... and wait... and "GO" !!
    No 3, 2, 1 no voices just a long silence and "go".

    is it the same for you ?


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Nope, no countdown - I assume there isn't one - you just get 'Ready... GO!' and have to use your quick responses in order to get a quick start.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Europe, Bordeaux
    Posts
    66

    Default

    you'll proably say i'm paranoiac but it sounds like bug.
    I saw this hand with one two and three finger down... but i cant retrieve it.

    Maybe I just imagined it...??:

    Anyway, if this coutdown is the right one, it's very ugly.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    499

    Default

    ugly but good. it seems as if the time elapsed between "ready" and "go" is a bit randomized, thus, you will pay more attention to the start, i wouldnt have to look at the screen in wo3 to get a turbo start.. and you ram other ships when getting turbo start, just simply tilt the ship a bit closer to the middle.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    PSN ID
    infoxicated
    Posts
    5,636

    Default

    The three, two, one countdown with the hands and the streaming arrows that you might have seen on early footage of the game were dropped because they were running short on texture memory.

    Cant blame the developers for that one - blame the price of memory when the PS2 was being specced about 4 years ago! Having only 32meg to play with in total and only 4megs of texture memory means that sacrifices have to be made.

    The decision to drop the fancy starting graphics was due to the fact they were simply garnishing and having them in there would mean less detail on other parts of the track - i.e. waterfalls in Alca Vexus, for instance.

    Hope that helps :smile:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •