Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 47

Thread: Feedback thread - v0.0.4

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    uk
    PSN ID
    slimjim2097
    Posts
    491

    Default

    For me it wouldn't download not really a pc gamer think its consoles all the way 😀

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    I've just been doing some side by side comparisons between FF and WO HD, I tried to even the playing field as much as I could, so I used the same racing view and chose Triakis as it's handling seemed the most similar to the FF craft.
    I have the PC & PS3 hooked up to the TV, so I just switch inputs and controllers [I'm using a wireless Xbox 360 controller for FF ]

    First observations...HUD's
    I was using the highest setting and full screen with FF, I didn't have any problem with the HUD being cut off.....I know the FF HUD is still a work in progress, but using the same FOV, the HD HUD, although being much smaller and transparent, was very easy to read, and this is for somebody that never normally races in this FOV.......The FF HUD on the other hand seemed to be part of the craft [sort of like if a car had run over a cardboard box, and it had just stuck underneath it with 75% hanging out the rear and dragging behind it]....the result was I kept looking for a HUD but couldn't see one, to my eyes it just seemed part of the craft....I put that down to the HUD on FF is moving with the craft.....where the WO HUD is a static overlay.....the other point was that I could see the WO HD HUD without taking my eye off the racing line I intended to use, where with the FF HUD, I had to focus on the rear of the craft, taking my eye of the track ahead, causing me to hit the sides.

    Conclusion ...I doubt any change in colour, shape or transparency to the FF HUD will make any difference to the readability of it if it remains moving with the craft....needs a rethink

    First Observations... TRACK
    Well there is only one at the moment, New York....as a track design I thinks it's pretty good, it does have that all important WO vibe about it...if you were racing this with WO HD craft at any speed you would like it, you could probably find a few short cuts on it as well , there's nothing particularly challenging about it as it is ATM, [like the first left turn on Chenghou forward ]even using the FF craft as they handle now, but if R8 bring in pit stops, that could change....I suppose it depends where they would place it on this track.
    I suppose R8 will spruce it up a bit before final release, but on the whole, I don't think track design is something we are going to have to worry about.

    Conclusion....Put your minds at rest regarding FF having tracks equal to WO tracks, if not possibly something better in the works.

    First observations- Weapons.
    Only two with the trial, the barrier and rockets, the rockets take longer to launch than a Plasma bolt on HD and seem to do little damage to the other craft, the barrier drops straight away.....both weapons when used against you by the AI craft can do a lot of damage.
    No conclusion as so little to report...it will all change in due course.

    First observations- AI Craft.
    The more I play this trial in race mode, the more I'm beginning to think R8 might just have some sort of "Learning AI" happening in the background...I'll keep my cards close to my chest with this one.

    Conclusion...if correct, and learning AI are a part of this game, it could make WO HD's Elite AI seem a push over.

    First observations - Craft Handling
    OK, the elephant in the room time, and the one that is worrying even those known for being imperturbable.
    If you break it down logically into it's components, honestly, it isn't as bad as some people are saying.
    Comparing the FF craft to WO HD's Triakis....it made Triakis handling seem more like you were using Feisar or Assegai....the FF craft are very unresponsive ATM in comparison, the steering is either too slow to react to controller input, or the range of movement programmed for each degree of controller steering movement is insufficient....you would think it would make the craft seem heavy, but it doesn't, because there is a general lack of a differentiating dynamic response regrading the craft's "Ride", or Suspension [not a AG term I know], this last factor is not determined by controller input, it's determined in the programming.

    Air braking ATM has no sensitivity control adjustment available, it works, and is pretty much similar to HD, but without the ride and steering reaction sorted, it's not as effective as it is in WO HD....there is NO side shifting available, but if you hit a side wall hard enough you get a effect very similar to a side shift, as it thrusts you out from the wall into the middle of the track [you also lose shield energy when this happens]

    Conclusion - It might seem cobbled together by some, and to some extent it is, but then again this is a Alpha build.
    If you break down each element that makes/effects craft handling, into separate components [and each component has obviously been built already, otherwise the craft wouldn't be able to be steered at all] , you would know that it is only a matter of adjustment needed of each of these to get the desired effect.....I mean it's only these sort of adjustments that make a Assegai NOT like a AG-Systems....little tweaks.

    Anyway, after doing this comparison....honestly, I don't think we have much to worry about.

    OH, and by the way, there is one very important difference between WO and FF that keeps being missed out on by ALL, and I have not seen mentioned by anybody, and will effect the way any FF craft operate.

    Just re view the original FF video.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=24&v=iASsC2Du8R4
    Last edited by blackwiggle; 7th August 2015 at 04:52 PM.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Timezone
    GMT + 1
    PSN ID
    kanar
    Posts
    1,830

    Default

    Excellent in-depth review blackwiggle Looks like you're starting to see the diamond in the rough. Just back from the PC dealer, upgraded my rig for the future eh eh, I7 4790K OC @4.4ghz, paired with my GTX970; the -almost- perfect ride to run this Unreal engine at its best. And mgs5 I must admit
    After 14 hours now in NY, I'm feeling even more these good vibes I used to sense a few years ago. Starting to know the track, but as usual this game is awesomely demanding and performing a perfect lap is still way behind me. Broke the 44 secs barrier just a few hours ago, still sooo far from the best Test Pilot times (a low 42 secs, and 41 probably pretty soon Oh for sure the physics need to be improved a lot. As most of the TP said, wall scrapping (depending on the angle of the collision, you're instantly stopped or you get a few scratches which in the end gives you a good angle for the next turn and practicallly no loss in speed) must be corrected, and yes airbrakes need some tweaks/adjustments. But jeez this is already so good to cruise on this AG-track.
    So yes, to my mind; they definitely (desperately should I say) need money. Maybe 2379 (until aug. 10th, after the price will be 27.99) is a bit high for just one track and one ship... But hey this is Wip3out. And you won't buy it again in 8 or 9 months. Not to mention the price will be for sure under 30/40, probably more, for the real release date. Sure we can't compare but I bought Dirt with the early access option and I'm not regretting it
    Ok back to NY now, need to improve my lines
    Last edited by kanar; 7th August 2015 at 08:23 PM.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    Nearly identical PC's , I just can't be arsed doing all the stability testing needed for OCing so I saved a few $$ and bought the standard i7 4790 chip.

    That link I gave above in my previous post isn't the one I was thinking of, it's this one below, when R8 were still in proposal mode and calling it Slam Jet Racing, before deciding on a name change to Formula Fusion.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=13&v=TR3JI-w7TGQ

    What I was getting at was, the over concern voiced about craft handling, without anybody taking into account the amount of performance tweaks pilots will be able to do to their craft in game....just look at the video and freeze it a certain points, read what the performance adjustments are to see what R8 have planned.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Timezone
    GMT + 12
    PSN ID
    NZLion
    Posts
    1,500

    Default

    The FoV problems I mentioned are worse for me because I have an ultrawide display, and worse again for anyone using multiple displays. The FoV is calculated based on the width of the screen, so if you have a wider aspect ratio it effectively cuts the top and bottom off.
    The overlay at the top that tilts around (I really like that, they should use that for the whole HUD rather than the chase thing) isn't even visible at my native resolution - I didn't know it was there until I tried one race at 1600x900 windowed.

    Related to that is that the amount the craft moves left and right in the chasecam view is tied to this too. It moves left and right so much on my display that it breaks my ability to sense the direction my craft is pointing.
    To put how much this affects my ability to pilot into perspective... I have finished every wipeout game except 64 and 2048, and I have yet to even finish a single race in formula fusion

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leigh-on-Sea, Essex, UK
    PSN ID
    Hellfire_WZ
    Posts
    3,240

    Default

    Another good point has been made on the FF forums regarding the weapons. How many of you noticed a small bar on the right side of the HUD? It fills up every time you hit a weapon icon, and you can only fire your weapon when it is full. I had absolutely no idea, no wonder I was sitting there wondering why my weapons were doing f*ck all! This is another reason why the HUD is useless in its current state, not only is it difficult to make out any useful information, it's not even clear what information the HUD is even trying to show!

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Timezone
    GMT + 10
    PSN ID
    blackwiggle
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    I see Varsh mentioned in that post that the HUD has had some major overhauls in the latest build, but if others like Lion can't even see the full HUD, it's not going to make any difference.
    By the way, are build updates sent automatically?
    I remember when I set up Steam/FF there was a option to have that happen, but I can't remember if I chose it, and after looking for it a few minutes ago can't seem to find where it's located......anybody know where I can find it to check ?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leigh-on-Sea, Essex, UK
    PSN ID
    Hellfire_WZ
    Posts
    3,240

    Default

    The resolution problem is being worked on, should be addressed in the next build. To check if you're auto-updating, right click on the game in your Steam library and go to Properties. Should be under one of the tabs

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Timezone
    GMT + 12
    PSN ID
    NZLion
    Posts
    1,500

    Default

    Right-click Formula Fusion in your steam library
    Select Properties
    Go to the Updates tab
    Ensure that the Automatic updates option is set to Always keep this game up to date

    While you're in there, go to the Betas tab
    Check that you have selected test_pilot - Test Pilot Programme only branch - assuming you have TPP
    I can see the developer option in there for selection too, I'm not sure if it works though? I would have thought they'd police this a little more thoroughly

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Leigh-on-Sea, Essex, UK
    PSN ID
    Hellfire_WZ
    Posts
    3,240

    Default

    It doesn't, you have to have a developer key to access that version

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •