PDA

View Full Version : The direction of wipEout – thoughts of an old lover

aries
1st March 2012, 12:10 AM
Hello everyone.
Let me introduce myself: my name is Gabriele, I'm an italian graphic designer, I play wipeout from ever and I can say that game changed my life, 'cause it started my love for electronic music and -especially- for graphic design, my current field of work. Please forgive my bad english.

I've been banned from this forum a long time ago. I said things about the development team that the moderators did not like (Lancer, perhaps?). Who knows, maybe I'll be banned again after this topic, but the possibility that someone could read what I have to say it's worth it.

I really, really do not like the direction that the brand has undertaken. Maybe I'm arrogant, but It seems to me that Studio Liverpool is misrepresenting the spirit that pervaded the early episodes, and that The Designer Republic had managed to infuse the game, for both aesthetic and gameplay.

WipEout is an IP that is constantly shifting from cutting edge aesthetics and modernity into a more toy-like, friendly and "populist" vision of the future. The most obvious aspect is the continued deviate from the basic mechanics (starting from Fusion) towards more guns and fighting focused modes, or the development of the aircraft (remember those floating tanks at the end of the game, and how they had little in common with the streamlined ships of the early episodes). Now they're changing controls and flaps, I know it's optional, but says a lot about the vision that SL has about the game. Anyway this is the most obvious and easily correctable aspect, because basically wipeout is a game that is always entertaining and in the end I had lot of fun even with wipEout HD.

The most controversial aspect is the conceptual and aesthetic.