PDA

View Full Version : Open source, real ship design proposal

AceSnoopy
21st April 2011, 06:46 PM
Greetings :g,

I'm an engineering student and long time wipEout worshipper here to propose an idea that may or may not be original, get some feedback and maybe recruit some talent. I want to work with people who, like me, want to see a low altitude air racing series in our lifetimes and maybe bring such transport to the masses. I think it's possible, so in an attempt to get some of you on board too let's get there via good ol' reasoning:

It's a tired point that we're now well into the 21st century without much in the way of flying cars. I suspect other fans will join me in deeming the efforts of Moller and Aerocar pretty disappointing and pretty far from the wipEout vision - and the reason to me is singularly clear: The transportation of the wipEout universe is not economical at this time with current technology.

This, however, need not be the end of the matter! As a society we do plenty of things which aren't outwardly "economical" in this crude sense - we pay footballers multi-million salaries and lay off healthcare professionals in "times of austerity", and we use Mozilla Firefox web browsing software to access PHP-administered sites using MySQL backends without (if we are savvy) paying a penny for the privilege of use of the software. Would somebody tell me how Red Bull sell so many cans of sugar they can afford to create multimillion-<currency of choice> cars every two weeks and fly them around the world to be paraded about? (Not an F1 hater, actually, but my point stands...)