PDA

View Full Version : New to Pulse - Couple of queries.

Alucioj
22nd January 2008, 12:11 AM
I only bought Wipeout Pulse a few days back but its a great game. Im a veteran of the 2097 game on the first playstation and this game brings back the memories.

Now in the manual it says when you press forward or back it pushes the nose of the ship down or up respectively; my question is whats the reason for using these manouvres? Is it only if mid-flight to direct your ship or to land without too much turbulence?

Also at the end of the race is the points display supposed to be so jumpy? Ive found Ive had to tap X a few times to get to the Continue icon.

And finally on the upload site Im listed in the rankings as Feisar even though my ship of choice is the Piranha, is there a way to change this? Or as I suspect foolishly select Feisar when I first logged in.

BARTgai
22nd January 2008, 12:24 AM
the pitching down helps maintain your speed and pitching up will slow you a bit. try pitching up and down when your thrust is off and see what happens.

as for the online thing, its a bug that i and countless others have.

ZenDJiNN
22nd January 2008, 12:26 AM
Hi Alucioj - Welcome to the Zone. :)

I've found that the "Nose Up, Nose Down" thing is somewhat useless (For me anyway). The ship becomes almost uncontrollable when i do this. :g

As for the online rankings & stuff, i know they've had a few problems so maybe it's something to do with that?

Look forward to racing you online. :)

the pitching down helps maintain your speed and pitching up will slow you a bit. try pitching up and down when your thrust is off and see what happens.

Do you really do that!!?? Wow.... I have enough trouble going in the right direction, and that's only on Flash! :g I'm gonna give that a try in Racebox..... Practice makes perfect and all that! :)

Alucioj
22nd January 2008, 12:33 AM
Thanks guys for your replies, much appreciated!