PDA

View Full Version : Please Explain this for me..

cigator
6th January 2008, 03:07 PM
I race with Assegai. I try to race on line at the Venom speed because I am relatively new to this. I don't understand how I can race on Talons White, have a clean race (hit most speed pads, dont hit walls), and I have a time around 2 minutes. But, racers are beating me badly, with times of 1:50. How do you get these times. I didnt think you could barrel roll on tracks that dont put air under the ship. I think I am racing pretty well, but Im hardly ever competitive. Is there a trick to going that much faster than me in the Venom class? I would like to be more competitive. Thanks for you input.

phl0w
6th January 2008, 03:21 PM
First of all: There's many topics that cover techniques and strategies for fast laps.
Still, especially on lower classes, a clean lap (PL) is not a clean lap, if you know what I mean. There can be seconds between two Perfect Laps, just because the direct line is that important. See on faster classes you don't have much choice but to stick to a direct line, otherwise you'd bump around the track like a bouncing ball. On Venom and Flash on the other hand there are unlimited lines to take a bend, resulting in big differences accumulated over the course of, say, 10 bends in 3 or 4 laps.
Long story short: Try to race as close to the inner walls as possible, and try to find the apex of every corner so you don't have to airbrake much.
As for your "hit most speed pads". Most of them is not enough, you'd want to hit EVERY Boost Pad every lap to clock an even remotely competitive time.
You wouldn't believe the difference a good line can make in your achieved time!
Hope that helped a bit. Just don't let yourself discourage by times posted or other Wipers online. It's really all a matter of practice.