PDA

View Full Version : Control setup (NeGcon)

BulletWraith
8th September 2007, 12:45 AM
hey I'm pretty new to Wipeout, just started playing 2097 a few months back and am still having issues with the controls, I found a better layout lastnight which I think will work for me, feels much smoother than the standard controls

my layout:
Thrust= L
Fire= R
Change View= II
Discard Weapon= I
Left Air break= B
Right Air break= A
haven't changed the twist settings yet, messed with them before but made me worse.

I find that having Thrust as L(Analogue) is much easier for me to use than the I & II buttons, they make my fingers hurt, I almost opened it up to extend them as they just feel wrong(I guess that's why I don't use em at all now)
also I find the completely digital click of the A/B buttons as the Air breaks much easier and more Accurate to use

so yeh I'd really like to see what other people are using so I can try them out

thanks
-Stevie

lunar
8th September 2007, 01:12 PM
I think you are using Al Sartwell`s set up, or similar, so you`re in good company. Search the 2097 forum and you`ll find lots of discussions about this sort of thing. Keep racing and see you on the tables!

element42
11th September 2007, 11:00 PM
Ah... I would love to be able to use thrust on the analogue L. But I just can't control the pitch at the same time :frown:

Medusa
11th September 2007, 11:05 PM
In XL (and the original for that matter), I use B for thrust, A for fire, and I for discard. I never change the airbrakes from the L and R buttons so that it feels the most intuitive and changing from game to game is less confusing.
It's most important it feels naturally to you because on phantom you have no time to think about what button you should press next...

JABBERJAW
17th September 2007, 12:29 AM
I have a similar setup
R thrust
L Weapon
2= left brake
A= right brake
1=discard
b=change view