PDA

View Full Version : Anger insues...Why are their no barriers on Anulpha Pass Shortcut?!

Hacker X
4th August 2007, 03:33 PM
This is a vent thread, so just bare with me. I'm going to beat Anulpha Pass Phantom Time Trial today, but just have to get this off my chest. I'm a veteran Wipeout player since 1996. I've gotten all the time trial goals in Pure (including Anulpha Pass Vector - Rapier) up to Anulpha pass Phantom so far. Been playing Wipeout Pure since launch but have done the time trial tracks off and on. Now I'm finishing them up before PULSE.

Anyway, why in the world is the shortcut (that you have to do to get a Gold medal) not have any barrier at least on its right side to keep you from falling off, and you have to either hit the speed pads or hit your boost to take it as fast as possible while maintaining keeping your nose straight? Only after having to jump onto it from the track below in the first place. Talk about frustrating. I've prettymuch almost got the Gold a few times with only a flash of a second off, but the whole point of Wipeout's is to master the track. With this part of this track a lot of the time its a flip of the coin if you will be able to maintain all 5 Phantom laps without freaking falling off.

You jump onto the shortcut which is in itself arleady making the run volatile enough. You have to then gain control of landing on it, while mainting keeping your nose straight, while at the same time trying to hit the speed pads. I usually have my boost still ready as I haven't needed it on the rest of the track which I hit and sometimes sends me flying off the track cause I either lose control, or my nose wasn't straight enough.

Trust me, I know the track can be beaten but its just frustrating having to keep doing a balancing act at the end of each lap of the track praying you don't fall off, and lose vital seconds to get the Gold, which has happened too many times before getting the Golds on Anulpa Pass on the other circuits.