PDA

View Full Version : People! People! This game rawks!

BenjaminBirdie
20th June 2002, 05:45 PM
:o

Okay. Here's my status. I've been playing Wipeout since 1995. I've never been good enough to really destroy any of the three previous incarnations (still struggling in the upper echelons of venom after starting over from scratch a few time, thank you). But I've played avidly, if not all-day religiously, since the very first game.

Maybe my relative lack of super-pilot-genius is a factor, but I LOVE this game. My only complaint was the vibration really. I had to turn it off. The physics and wall encounters make sense, but the rumbling just gets WAYYY too distracting.

I'm approaching the game in my typical manner, which is a bit more difficult in this game. Usually I'll just do each track team by team and then move on once it's totally conquered. Here I'm doing it team by team on the leagues. It's definitely sad to see Venom, Vector, et al gone. That's how I was managing to go through all three games at the same time. (Do all the Vector tracks, then move on to the Venom tracks, etc). I'm also taking care of the challenges in between leagues. Then once every pilot is maxed out, i'll move on to the individual tracks (since I realized that even though I've cleared leagues, I think I've come in first on the actual tracks maybe 7% of the time).

I also miss the menu layout for wip3out. It was perfectly suited for someone like me. Build up a gorgeous block of gold medals. Fusion doesn't even keep track of each pilot clearing the leagues. I've gotten everyone through to EGR through the first two leagues but it's only showing my percentage complete as what I got through with the first feisar pilot, who I took through to the fifth league. (I was expecting my percentage to increase if I was maxing out EVERY pilot).