PDA

View Full Version : Klies Bridge help?

permesse
17th April 2007, 01:43 AM
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie WO64 player from a different community who wants to try and TAS (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tool-assisted_speedrun) Wipeout64 on Challenge mode. I've read the tips and everything, but it seems I'm not doing it right. The youtube video that's in the sticky was helpful, but since I wasn't using the pirana, I can't pull off those tricks as easily or go as far.

My best lap time on Challenge 1 (Klies bridge with the feisar) so far has been 30.7, with decent optimisations in the route. I also managed to get 2 turbos in the first lap, 1 in the second, and none in the third. However, I see people getting around 20 seconds for their best lap time, and finishing a good 30 seconds faster than me. I was wondering perhaps if they used any other tricks or different routes in order to get such a faster time.

I can upload my video to Youtube if anyone wants to see what I'm doing wrong, so any help/advice/links would be greatly appreciated! :)

P.S I don't really want to come off as "Rargh I'm new but I still demand help!" kind of attitude, so if I do come off like that, I sincerely apologise. I'm just trying to ask for help politely. =)

Edit: Here are my actual lap times on an emulator:

Lap 1: 30.7
Lap 2: 31.7
Lap 3: 34.6

Mark Of Insanity
17th April 2007, 11:47 AM
If you're not on Phantom, this would definitely be a problem. Either way, make sure to take as many speed pads as possible, and avoid even one clip against the wall, because it can cost you a second or more.

I use an emulator too and comfortably get 20 seconds so I know it shouldn't be the fault of the emulator.

permesse
18th April 2007, 02:37 AM
Phantom? How does that affect it? I remember seeing something about Venom/Feisar for Challenge mode... but no Phantom. oO