PDA

View Full Version : Logos?

Synthetic Consciousness
7th May 2002, 12:05 AM
This might be a stupid question (and forgive me, cause I'm new to the games and everything). I know about the Chemical Brothers and F.S.O.L. logos appearing in the game, but what about the stylized "A" logo (white half-circle with a dot underneath)? An old Astralwerks logo? I think the grey one made of circles is probably a Fluke logo (like their logo with the name appearing as phone buttons). Any help, please? Just something that I've been wondering about...

AmigoJack
7th May 2002, 04:27 PM
i suppose its "just" a pure miTDR style logo without any deeper meaning...

Consortium
12th May 2002, 10:29 AM
Don't worry - I'm new to the games as well, with just as many questions.

I've got a pretty extensive collection of Wipeout graphics, and research through it turned up this answer: it seems to be an early appearance of a Wipeout 3 Auricom logo. It looks quite a bit like just the cap "A" from the spelled-out corporate logo used in 3.

I have the new Mac OS X version of the game, and all the signage has been changed to team logos. There's no Red Bull or music group logos at all, so I know that these graphics can vary depending on the port.

I believe the PC version of the game was ported quite a bit after the PS version came out, so perhaps new tDR material for Wipeout 3 made it into the game at that point. I would think it's possible. Look at it this way: when the Mac version was ported, Wipeout Fusion was already on the market!

Hope this helps,
C.

Synthetic Consciousness
14th May 2002, 09:18 AM
Auricom was probably trying to reinvent themselves just then, I guess. I was finally able to get Fluke's video for "Atom Bomb" from KaZaA (after about 5 weeks of off and on downloading), and I was able to confirm for myself that the grey circles logo is indeed a Fluke logo. Video still kicks ass, too. :) Baby's got an atom bomb! 8)

AmigoJack
15th May 2002, 11:01 AM