PDA

View Full Version : VR, Oculus Rift & Co

chboing
22nd January 2016, 09:18 AM
Man, i don't come here often, but there are some times i remember with a bit of nostaligia when i was an active wipeout HD pilot...

Guys(& girls), i tried an oculus rift dk2 some time ago with several game/demos ... and i pre-ordered a CV1 oculus rift (the retail version) a few weeks ago.
I saw in some thread with strange video for gear VR and some stuff( i am not personnaly convince the immersion in a gear VR is good, head tracking & stuff ... ) but i didn't find any proper thread to worship this new techno

The immersion you get in an Oculus rift is something i never experienced till i tried one. You guys should really try some as soon as you can. I guess it would be about the same feeling in the sony VR headset, or htc vive

I mean, simply beeing on a roller coaster is great, so ...I cannot imagine how amazing it would be able to play wipeout in VR... it would be mind blowing, it literraly would change everything, the speed sensation, the antigrav sensation, everything ...
bwaaaaaa maaaaaaaaan that would be soooooooooo goooooooooood !!!!!!

To me, Sony will have to resuscitate Wipeout for this, now guys, it's mandatory that one day, there is a wipeout in VR, you'll know when you try one of these VR headset :)
and this day, we will meet again in game, i know that !

cheers !
chboing

blackwiggle
24th January 2016, 12:30 AM
R8 have said that they want to eventually make Formula Fusion playable with a VR headset.

The problem [if you see it as a problem] is that the minimum graphic card power in PC spec's needed to run a Oculus rift are pretty high, a GTX 970 or AMD 290, which cost as much as a PS4.
Sony's VR headset is supposabley going to cost roughly the same as the Oculus, if it's as good as the Oculus, who knows?